Sony Details New Changes Coming to Trophy System

If you’ve been within the PlayStation ecosystem at one point within the past 12 years, you are no stranger to the Trophy system that has accompanied Sony hardware since 2008. While the system has been around for the better part of two decades now, it has remained relatively unchanged; but all of that is changing soon.

In a post on Sony’s PlayStation Blog, Toshimasa Aoki, Director of Product Management at Sony Interactive Entertainment, detailed a list of new changes coming to the popular PlayStation Trophies system, including a completely revamped take on its leveling system.

Starting later tonight (North America, tomorrow morning for our European friends), levels will change from the tradition 1-100 scale for a new 1-999 scale. “The first thing you’ll notice is the big change to your Trophy level” Aoki-San writes when detailing the update. “We’re increasing the Trophy level range from the current ‘1-100’ to ‘1-999’, so following this update, your Trophy level range will automatically be remapped to a new level within this new range based on the Trophies you’ve earned to date.”

With this new level scale, comes a new calculation to accompany your new level, including three 100-point tiers within each distinction of Trophy. Bronze Trophies will range from 1-299, Silver Trophies will range from 300-599, Gold Trophies will range from 600-998, and the illustrious Platinum Trophy will net you a whopping 999 levels. “Players will progress quicker through early levels, and levels will increase more consistently” Aoki-San explains. “For example, if your Trophy level is 12, your new level will jump to somewhere in the low 200’s…(and) Platinum Trophies will count more toward your level progression, making them even more valuable.”

Additionally, Sony reveals it will also be ditching the traditional “star” icon next to your current Trophy levels for a new variant system that aligns with the Trophies themselves. Levels 1-299 will have variations of the Bronze Trophy, Silver for 300-599, Gold for 600-998, and Platinum for level 999. Sony also confirms that all current generation Trophies will carry forward to the PlayStation 5, akin to the previous jump from PlayStation 3 to PlayStation 4.

The Trophy system was first implemented on July 2nd, 2008, with the PlayStation 3’s firmware update 2.40, with Super Stardust HD being the first game to feature Trophies after being patched to include 9 Bronze, 6 Silver and 2 Gold Trophies. Uncharted: Drake’s Fortune, the first entry in the iconic PlayStation first-party franchise, was the first title to receive a Platinum Trophy.

For updates to Trophies and all things PlayStation, keep locked in to Bonus Accessory.

Author: Travis White

Editor-In-Chief & Creator of Bonus Accessory. When not publishing on Bonus Accessory, Travis also host the Game Pass Gamecast podcast, centered around Xbox & PC gaming. He also knows that Ubisoft will eventually make another mainline Splinter Cell title (may not be until he's 50, but hey, he'll take it).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s